The team

Core team

Daan Reid

ADDIS project lead

Daan first joined the ADDIS team in September 2010. After working on several other software development projects within the UMCG he rejoined the team on October 2013 to work on ADDIS 2. Daan has a PhD in theoretical biology (University of Groningen, 2010) and an MSc in Artificial Intelligence.

Find out more on his personal page.

Douwe Postmus

Lead MCDA and HTA

Dr. Douwe Postmus is a post-doctoral researcher at the Department of Epidemiology of the University Medical Center Groningen. He has an MSc degree in Econometrics and Operations Research and a PhD degree in Economics and Business. His main areas of expertise are multi-criteria decision analysis, disease progression modeling using continuous-time state transition models, and medical statistics (especially survival analysis).

Find out more on his personal page.

Joris de Keijser


Joris joined the ADDIS team in the Autumn of 2016. He studied Computing Science with a specialization in Intelligent Systems.

Find out more on his personal page.

Gert van Valkenhoef

ADDIS project founder

Gert received his PhD (University of Groningen, 2012) for his methodological work on evidence-based decision support for drug benefit-risk assessment. During his PhD he also led the software development team that implemented those methods in ADDIS 1. He also oversaw the development of ADDIS 2 for the IMI GetReal project. He is currently employed by the Cochrane Collaboration and holds an advisory role in the ADDIS project. Gert holds an MSc in Artificial Intelligence (University of Groningen, 2009).

Find out more on his personal page.


  • Hans Hillege; medical advisor & EMA liaison
  • Erik Buskens; HTA advisor
  • Bert de Brock; advisor


Previous contributors

  • Connor Stroomberg; developer (2013-12 — 2016-08)
  • Joël Kuiper; developer (2012-04 — 2015-07)
  • Bob Goeree; MSc student & intern (2013-09 — 2014-09)
  • Tjerk Heringa (2014-04 — 2014-06)
  • Wouter Reckman; developer (2012-04 — 2012-09)
  • Margreth Venaely Kileo; MSc thesis project (2011-02 — 2011-08)
  • Jing Zhao; MSc thesis project, KTH ICT (2010-03 — 2010-06); research assistant 0.2FTE (2011-01 — 2011-06)
  • Ahmad Kamal; developer (2010-08 — 2011-03)
  • Florin Schimbinschi; developer (2010-09 — 2011-06)
  • Dr. Tommi Tervonen; researcher & developer (2009-04 — 2010-08)
  • Tijs Zwinkels; developer (2009-10 — 2010-08); research assistant (2010-05 — 2010-08)
  • Hanno Koeslag; developer (2010-01 — 2010-05)
  • Maarten Jacobs; developer (2009-10 — 2009-12)